Colin Sandercock

Below are a list of here I have lived.

  • Born - Dalby, Qld
  • Until 8, lived on a grain farm near Jimbour, Qld
  • Until 17, lived on a dairy farm near Oakey, Qld
  • Moved to Brisbane, attended Qld Uni and started work
  • Moved to Sydney at 22, and have lived here since


I work in the IT industry, currently in the service management area. Over the years, I have worked for or consulted to many companies. Amongst them are:

  • BHPDeveloped interface between PCs and ships management computer to help manage maintenance on the cargo ships and automatically order parts to be available when the ships docked.
  • WestpacPart of a team that transitioned entire Domino application catalogue to the then latest version of Domino.
  • IBM Asia PacificPart of implementation team to roll out Domino across all of Asia Pacific region. Was also technical lead for deployment of a fully fault tolerant Domino to SMTP mail gateway for entire Asia Pacific region.
  • Hill and KnowltonSupported their head office systems in Australia, Singapore and Hong Kong for many years, including development of custom applications to suport billing of customers.
  • Multisoft AustraliaWas technical manager looking after their retailers in Australia, and distributors in New Zealand and Malaysia.
  • Grandmaster ComputersRan the service and support department, and helped build the company from turnover of approximately $1 million to over $11 million in 2 years. Company was awarded Compaq's national dealer of the year.
  • TelstraDesigned the seperation of several subsidiaries from the Telstra environment. Since then have been employed by Telstra in designing and implementing BI solutions for service management of their major customers.
  • N.S.W. Dept of EducationDesigned and implemented a debtors system for the NSW Dept. of Education.
  • Expo 88Developed applications used by several of the exhibitors at Expo 88 as a part of their Expo stands.


Some of my interests are listed below:
  • MotorcyclesI've been interested in motorcysles since a teenager, and have owned many motorcycles over the years. I currently own a Honda VFR800 and a CBR1100XX (Blackbird).
  • CarsMostly super/hyper cars, and, in particular, Alfa-Romeo. I own the (as far as anyone can determine) the only blackAlfa-Romeo 4C in Australia.
  • Family TreeI have been working on my family tree for many years - initially becameinterested as the result of a family reunion in the 1980's - that I was unable to attend. My family has been in Australia since the mid 1800's, and I have managed to trace it back to the early 1700's.
  • ITAs well as working in IT, I have a keen interest in using IT to automate my home - using Goolge home and integrating it with as much as possible - from lights and doorbell to my ay=duio-visual system.
  • RugbyFollow both the Wallabies and the Waratahs (hopefully rebuilding this season)

Places I've lived and worked